Who we are

Group

The mission of the Georgia Council on Substance Abuse (GCSA) is to reduce the impact of substance use in Georgia’s communities through education, advocacy and training.  We accomplish our mission by:

Influencing public policy to improve the availability and effectiveness of prevention, treatment and recovery support services

Providing and disseminating education and training relevant to the addiction recovery field, and acting as a clearinghouse of information on substance abuse prevention, treatment and recovery-oriented systems of care

Providing advocacy that mobilizes and organizes Georgia’s recovery communities to promoting the benefits of recovery and eliminating discrimination against people seeking and in long-term recovery.

Through private donations, foundation contributions and grants, we are dedicated to strengthening communities by promoting quality addiction prevention, treatment and recovery practices, and by supporting public policy that not only reduces the stigma associated with addiction, but also supports the development and implementation of a strong prevention, treatment and recovery services system.

We have an active Board of Directors representing the business, criminal justice, and education, prevention, treatment and recovery communities.  Our diverse staff of people in long-term recovery work hard to create and sustain communities that support recovery:

 

[row] [column lg=”6″ md=”6″ sm=”12″ xs=”12″ ]

Board of Directors

D. Hines Brannan, Vice Chairman
Retired, Accenture

Gwen Skinner
Executive Director
Devereux Georgia Treatment Network

Warren Jobe, Treasurer
Retired, The Southern Company

James G. Emshoff, Ph.D.
Retired, Georgia State University

Tom Roeck, Chairman
Retired, Delta Airlines

Pierluigi Mancini, Ph.D
Executive Director, CETPA, Inc.

John Zoller
Criminal Justice Consultant

[/column] [column lg=”6″ md=”6″ sm=”12″ xs=”12″ ]

GCSA Staff

Neil Campbell
Executive Director
neil@gasubstanceabuse.org

Owen Dougherty, CARES
Deputy Director
owen@gasubstanceabuse.org

R. Joyce Jordan, CARES
Administrative Operations Manager
joyce@gasubstanceabuse.org

Karen Daniel, CARES
CARES Liaison
Karen@gasubstanceabuse.org

Doreen Kennie, CARES
Program Coordinator
doreen@gasubstanceabuse.org

Laurisa Barthen, CARES
Outreach and Communications Coordinator
laurisa@gasubstanceabuse.org

Bertrand Brown, CARES
Youth Advocate
bertrand@gasubstanceabuse.org

Chris Johnson, CARES
Program Coordinator
chris@gasubstanceabuse.org

Gene Conroy, CARES
Program Manager
gene@gasubstanceabuse.org

George S. Braucht, LPC
CARES Co-founder and Consultant

Dawn A. Randolph, MPA
Government Affairs Consultant

[/column] [/row]